<body>
Chasing Amy~
2004-01-06

People's capacity and ability for un-compassion never ceases to amaze me. And by amaze, I mean amazement laced-covered-dipped-binded in/with dissapointment and disgust. How people can hate the world and hate other people just because some find their other half, the thing that completes them, and compells them to move foreward in life, the emobodient of their hopes dreams and love, in a person who is physically and biologically similiar to them. How people can hate others so much, just because a man, finds the world in another man. Or a woman, finds all she ever looked for in antoher woman. I remeber the scene in chasing Amy where the main girl is saying why she first started looking into women the first place. The reasoning was that she was afraid if she had kept herself closed off to the option of women, that she may be excluding herself from the one. The one that made her world go round...the one that was for her. So she opened up that door, incase that person were to fall upon her, and had happend to be in the form of a woman. I though that for some reason, that was beautiufl (yet desperate?) reasoning for such a thing.and why people can't understand and respect other's choices...

Sorry, i know this is kind of random but, in my catholic ethics today, was the topic of homosexuality...and someone had said how in a park in the hometown of Mathew Shepard (a man who was brutally murdered, soley because his sexual orientation) some people wanted to get a statue that said the date he was murdered, and to go as far as to put that Mathew Shepard deserved what he got, and was going to Hell because he was gay. this sickened and disgusted me. the fact that people are -fighting- to get such a statue to be put up. the fact that they want to put it in his hometown no less, the one his parents still live in. Havn't they and him, and his name gone through enough? what happend to empathy, compassion, and humanity?

I guess this just hits me hard because, one of my closest friends (TJ- yeah the guy i traiend with in track) is gay. And he is one of the most wonderful and most caring people in my life, and just- i know people judge him. people that know. and im not saying you have to like, apprecaite, or even associate with his actions, or people that partake in that life style, but god damn, don't look down upon it and don't condemn it. It's not like it's a choice...and even it is, why can't it be respected?

So i guess that's where my own compassion fails me. Because i just can't seem to understand, how people could judge someone so harshly and so fast, soley on their sexual orientation. and i don't think i'll ever understand.

Don't get me wrong..I'm not tryign to say I'm better than them or people that have that view point, and I'm not trying to have a holier than thou attitude, I know that people have views such as those feel they have good reason,a nd stand behind them strongly.-- im just saying, I don't undestand it...

<< then &hearts now >>

profile
Listen up.

links.

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

affiliates
omfggwtf
tattoobelly
rhetoric
tinfoilheart
hotwaterlove
srslyimeanit
duplicitous
evilyoyo
smartypants
weetabix
thecity
symmetries
over-rated
shot-of-tea
kellifornia
agitated
traumatease
slickasgrace
dirty-a-sid
absolutgal82
faultyvision
symmetree
priceless
punkunicorn
s-i-l-v-e-r
dandelionkat
destinedstar
ladiebug
pinupgirl
crimsonstar
limbless

credits
This blogskin is proudly presented to you by Anna May.

hosted by DiaryLand.com