<body>
Zhang Ziyi in Memoirs of a Geisha
2005-07-25

I went to the movies tonight, and was thrilled to see a poster for Memoirs of A Geisha..My favorite book is being turned into a movie!

I was really excited and when i got home i rushed to the computer to look it up on google, to see what kind of info i could get on it (yeah i'm a big dork..) Only to find to my dismay, that one of my favorite actresses is in it. Okay..that might sound weird. But the movie is featuring Zhang Ziyi..yeah the girl from Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon. Yeah, the one I'm kind of obsessed with. Thats fine and all except for the fact that, oh I don't know.. she's not Japanese ? She's infact Chinese. And also, other main parts are filled by Chinese actresses, who i also like very much.

It just really bothers me because the story is rich of Japanese tradition and culture, actually its one of the largest parts of the book. You could at least get Japanese actors. Instead of going for a name? Or just stick any asian actor in there and figure it will do?

The movie is actually borrowing a few members from the cast of Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon. Not just Zhang Ziyi but Michelle Yeoh too. These are not Japanese actresses...

I mean. the geisha is a famous trademark of Japanese culture, one recognizable to pretty much anybody as Japanese...wouldn't it make sense to have japanese people in the movie?

Or at least people that can speak Japanese...

Maybe I'm just being lame. But I'm greatly annoyed. specially because i adore the book so much...and I've been looking forward to the making of this movie for so damn long. Oh well. they better do a good fucking job of this movie, or i will be even more pissed.

<< then &hearts now >>

profile
Listen up.

links.

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

affiliates
omfggwtf
tattoobelly
rhetoric
tinfoilheart
hotwaterlove
srslyimeanit
duplicitous
evilyoyo
smartypants
weetabix
thecity
symmetries
over-rated
shot-of-tea
kellifornia
agitated
traumatease
slickasgrace
dirty-a-sid
absolutgal82
faultyvision
symmetree
priceless
punkunicorn
s-i-l-v-e-r
dandelionkat
destinedstar
ladiebug
pinupgirl
crimsonstar
limbless

credits
This blogskin is proudly presented to you by Anna May.

hosted by DiaryLand.com