<body>
Ventura Highway
2013-09-07

I�m listening to some songs and it made me think of my parents. These kinds of songs always make me think of them though. It�s a certain kind of sound, kinda of acoustic rock from the 60�s and 70�s and very California based. Songs like Ventura Highway and Black Water. I�ve loved these songs as a kid and even now they are very comforting. I remember every time this music would come on, usually riding in the car with my parents, a look comes over their face and you know they are in a different place and time. They are young again. My mom�s hair is long and black and she turns men's heads as she is giggling with her friends. And my dad has his long 70�s hair and a mustache with his brothers and his friend Vin. And they both are cruising the streets of LA in separate cars unknown to each other looking for a good bar and cute guys or girls and they are at their peak feeling so optimistic and confident in what the future holds.

I�ve always wondered what my parents were like when they were young. I wish I could go back and meet them. You know it�s weird. As a child you know your parents are real people, but not really. They have feelings and emotions and they take care of you and love you and they love each other and I guess for a long time I never really thought past that. Now that I�m older there are spurts where I�m intensely curious about their past lives (ones before kids and these jobs and northern California and maybe even each other.) Did they enjoy them? Have they had good lives? Are they happy? It�s weird. I�ve recently realized the longer I�ve known them the less I think I know about them. I guess being their child restricts me from knowing them in a lot of ways. Lately they�ve been slipping me little glimpses of their worlds now and then, and its crazy to realize how much I�ve missed. Of course you hide things from your kids for their own sake, and maybe when you get older it�s just become a habit.

But I am thankful for each bit I get. My dad told me some stories about Vietnam. Not the funny ones either. I could repeat those word for word because he always tried to make light of it. But he told me real stories. Ones he�s always refused to tell. Like how he saved 5 guys lives. Like how he was miserable and terrified and still yelling commands at his platoon when he was wounded. And how he actually wanted to go to war, he had seen too many John Wayne movies and thought it would be his great adventure. Which actually broke my heart more than what I had always thought was the truth, he went unwillingly drafted. It just shows how young he truly was, how na�ve. Barely 18. Jesus. He�s never told me things like that before. And it was raw and we were drunk and I was so grateful. My mom told me about recent drama in her friends group, which she let�s me in on occasionally but never parents of other people I�ve grown up with. So, it was fascinating to hear, all the things you miss and are sheltered from. A lot of the time as a child you never realizing its not actually about you and your friends at all, a lot of the time.

I guess all this thinking just makes me just hope that they are happy with the way things have turned out. And hope that most of the time they were happy along the way. That it's been (& continues to be) a wonderful fucking ride. From my heart of hearts that is my wish for them.

<< then &hearts now >>

profile
Listen up.

links.

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

affiliates
lust-
timdangerous
suddenbliss
call-me-out
felinenine
old-story
atwowaydream
kateness
tattoobelly
duplicitous
srslyimeanit
hotwaterlove
tinfoilheart
rhetoric
evilyoyo
smartypants
weetabix
over-rated
symmetries
thecity
shot-of-tea
kellifornia
agitated
traumatease
slickasgrace
dirty-a-sid
absolutgal82
faultyvision
symmetree
priceless
punkunicorn
dandelionkat
s-i-l-v-e-r
destinedstar
crimsonstar
limbless
ladiebug
pinupgirl
secret-motel

credits
This blogskin is proudly presented to you by Anna May.

hosted by DiaryLand.com